RIM shortlists Women & Technology Award winners

RIM shortlists Women & Technology Award winners

2008 finalists announced

Research In Motion has unveiled the shortlist for its third annual BlackBerry Women & Technology Awards.

The awards recognise and celebrate the achievements of women using technology within and beyond the IT sector. The winners will be announced at a ceremony on 6 May in London.

"Technology fuels innovation and drives change as do the incredible women on this year's BlackBerry Women & Technology shortlist," said Charmaine Eggberry, vice president and managing director at RIM EMEA.

"We have truly been inspired by the calibre of the entrants for 2008 and we are looking forward to sharing their stories with a new generation of women who may be considering a career in technology."

The overall winner of the title, 2008 BlackBerry Outstanding Woman in Technology, will be chosen at the awards ceremony.

"Technology is an exciting, varied and fast-paced sector, yet so often people are not aware of the dynamic career opportunities the industry offers," said Shirin Dehghan, chief executive of Arieso and 2007 BlackBerry Outstanding Woman in Technology.

"The Awards are doing a brilliant job of highlighting these opportunities and honouring the achievements of women who have set out to make their mark on the industry.

"I was incredibly flattered to be short listed for last year's awards and winning the overall category when I was up against so many other worthy women was a humbling experience."

The finalists for each category are as follows:

Best Use of Technology by a Woman within the Corporate Sector
Sara Murray - Buddi
Jayne Opperman - Lloyds TSB
Penny Jones - Provident Financial Services PLC
Harriet Green - Premier Farnell

Best Use of Technology by under 30 year-old Woman
Anita Moss - Edunation Ltd
Hollie Carr - IBM UK Ltd
Lisa Ditlefsen - Base One

Best Woman in Technology (Public Sector and Academia)
Professor Lizbeth Goodman - SMARTlab, UEL
Sue Scott-Horne - EGAR Educational Games and Resources
Jackie Kinsey - Thoughtworks
Simone Enefer-Doy - Lifelites

Best Use of Technology within the Multimedia Industry by a Woman
Beatriz Alonso Martinez - Avid Technology Europe Ltd
Professor Lizbeth Goodman - SMARTlab
Taey Kim - SMARTlab
Tanya Goodin - Tamar

Best Company Advancing Women in Technology
BT Group
Reading Room
Lloyds TSB

Best Use of Technology by a Woman in Small to Medium Business
Cary Marsh - Mydeo
Eleanor Ford - LikeCube Ltd
Helen Scott - 4X Currency Corporation PLC
Kate Craig-Wood - Memset
Penny Power - Ecademy.com
Polly Gowers - Everyclick.com

Best Female Mentor
Kate Bishop - Dell
Margaret Rice-Jones - Aircom International
Susan Hallam - Hallam Communications Ltd